Skip to the Main Content

Note:These pages make extensive use of the latest XHTML and CSS Standards. They ought to look great in any standards-compliant modern browser. Unfortunately, they will probably look horrible in older browsers, like Netscape 4.x and IE 4.x. Moreover, many posts use MathML, which is, currently only supported in Mozilla. My best suggestion (and you will thank me when surfing an ever-increasing number of sites on the web which have been crafted to use the new standards) is to upgrade to the latest version of your browser. If that's not possible, consider moving to the Standards-compliant and open-source Mozilla browser.

June 23, 2023

ACT 2023 — Registration

Posted by John Baez

6th Annual International Conference on Applied Category Theory (ACT2023)

July 31 - August 4, 2023

Due to generous sponsorship from NIST and UFL, registration is completely free! Please register here:

If you plan to attend virtually, you will need to register before July 14th to receive a Zoom link.

The Sixth International Conference on Applied Category Theory will take place at the University of Maryland from 31 July to 4 August 2023, preceded by the Adjoint School 2023 from 24 to 28 July. This conference follows previous events at Strathclyde (UK), Cambridge (UK), Cambridge (MA), Oxford (UK), and Leiden (NL).

Applied category theory is essential to a growing community of researchers who use category-theoretic tools to study computer science, logic, engineering, physics, biology, chemistry, social science, systems, linguistics, and other subjects. The background and experience of our members are as varied as the systems being studied. The goal of the Applied Category Theory conference series is to bring researchers together, strengthen the applied category theory community, disseminate the latest results, and facilitate further development of the field.


The following dates are all in 2023, and Anywhere On Earth.

  • Registration ends: 14 July

  • Adjoint School: 24-28 July

  • Conference begins: 31 July


  • James Fairbanks, University of Florida

  • Joe Moeller, National Institute for Standards and Technology and University of Maryland

  • Priyaa Varshinee Srinivasan, National Institute for Standards and Technology

  • Christina Vasilakopoulou, National Technical University of Athens

  • Sam Staton, University of Oxford


  • John Baez, University of California, Riverside

  • Bob Coecke, Cambridge Quantum

  • Dorette Pronk, Dalhousie University

  • David Spivak, Topos Institute

Posted at June 23, 2023 6:35 PM UTC

TrackBack URL for this Entry:

0 Comments & 0 Trackbacks

Post a New Comment